Cross-Party Group Annual Return

Name of Cross-Party Group

Cross-Party Group on Taiwan

Date Group Established (the date of establishment is the date in this parliamentary session that the Group held its initial meeting, where the office bearers were elected and not the date that the Group was accorded recognition. All Groups should hold their AGMs on, or before, the anniversary of this date.)

21st September 2021

Date of Most Recent Annual General Meeting (AGM)

25th September 2024

Date Annual Return Submitted

25/02/2025

Date of Preceding AGM [this date is required to aid clerks in verifying that the most recent AGM has taken place within 11 to 13 months of the previous AGM]

27th September 2023

Group Meetings and Activities

Please provide details of each meeting of the Group including the date of the meeting, a brief description of the main subjects discussed and the MSP and non-MSP attendance figures.

Details of any other activities, such as visits undertaken by the Group or papers/report published by the Group should also be provided.

AGM: 25 September 2024

Attendance: 3 MSP members, 5 non-MSP members

- Director General Ding extended his gratitude to the guest speaker, Hsiao-Chen Shen for her insightful talk, and the attendees and guests for their attendance.
- Jamie Greene MSP chaired the meeting, sharing his views on Scotch Whisky as well as the export to Taiwan, and then welcomed the upcoming ROC Taiwan's National Day celebrations in Edinburgh.
- Jamie Greene MSP, Rhoda Grant MSP and Karen Adam MSP are keen to keep enhancing dialogues on diverse topics in the future, and looking forward to seeking any further potential opportunities to strengthen bilateral economic ties between Scotland and Taiwan.
- Re-election of office bearers and the secretary of the CPG on Taiwan.
- The date of next meeting is to be confirmed.

22nd November 2023

Attendance: 3 MSP members, 17 non-MSP members

- Guest presentations on the topic of Taiwan and UK educational collaborations
- Discussion included methods to progress collaborations, what has been learned from previous experience, current barriers to collaborations and what the future holds.

AGM: 27 September 2023

Attendance: 3 MSP members, 9 non-MSP members

- Re-election of office bearers
- Acknowledgement of support from MSPs by the Director General *Chia-Cheng Chang.*
- Updates on Bilateral relations
- Policy and Sustainability Committee of the City Council agreed to pursue a memorandum of understanding with Edinburgh and Taiwan city partners
- Cultural exchange in the past year with Taiwanese performing organisations participating in the Edinburgh Fringe Festival
- Officials from Taiwan's Judicial Yuan visited Edinburgh in early June 2023, exchanging views with counterparts.

- Lord President, Lord Carloway, and Lord Justice Clerk, Lady Dorrian, visited Taiwan, delivering keynote speeches at a Constitutional Law Forum this September 2023
- In July, Taiwan and the UK initiated discussions on an enhanced trade partnership, prioritising investments, energy, decarbonisation, and digital trade.

MSP Members of The Group

Jamie Greene MSP (Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party)

Rhoda Grant MSP (Scottish Labour)

Jeremy Balfour MSP (Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party)

Karen Adam MSP (Scottish National Party)

Beatrice Wishart (Scottish Liberal Democrats)

Sarah Boyack MSP (Scottish Labour)

Miles Briggs MSP (Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party)

Jackson Carlaw MSP (Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party)

Non-MSP Members of The Group

Blanca Kao - Secretary Hsinyen Lai Alex MacKinnon Angel Lin Ariel Liu Brian McLeish Candy Lotus Chen Burger Chen Yen Fa Chia Ling Yang Chimin Wu

Chiu Wen Hsiung **Craig Ballard David Birrell Deirdre Kinloch Anderson Donald Anderson Douglas Kinloch Anderson** Klaus Staubermann Gari Donn **Helen Robertson** Hung-Chieh Chang Ellie Casson **Emma Wheater Eric Milligan Hsien-Lin Ro** lan Irvin Ian McKee **Isabella Morton** Jack Lin Jenny Chen Jhenyi Wu Jim Ramage John Kinloch Anderson John Leighton **Kevin McLoughlin** Li Feng Su Lindsey Low Lisa Hsu Lord Andrew Hardie Martin Bell Martin Hunt Maya Lu Luna Schumacher-Lu Martino Chan Mei Jung Fu **Michael Bates** Michael Clarke **Owen Kelly** Raffkas Liu **Robert Mitchell Roger Huang Ron Hewitt Sheng-Feng Huang** Simon Chiu Siobhan Paterson

Stephen Blackmore Steve Cardownie Thomas Lee Tony A.T. Shek Tuang Jung Lee Wei Lee Ger Wei Sheng Hong Wingsie Ng Winston Wu Yen Yi Lee Yi Chiao Chung Mark Hughes Rob Munn Toni Taylor		
Individuals		
Organisations	Scotland Taiwanese Association (STA) Scotland Taiwan Chamber of Commerce (STCC) Taiwanese Scholar Association of Scotland (TSAS) Taipei Representative Office (TRO) in the UK Edinburgh Office	
Group Office Bearers Please provide names for all office bearers. The minimum requirement is that two of the office bearers are MSPs and one of these is Convener – beyond this it is a matter for the Group to decide upon the office bearers it wishes to have. It is permissible to have more than one individual elected to each office, for example, co- conveners or multiple deputy conveners.		
Convener	Jamie Greene MSP Rhoda Grant MSP	
Deputy Convener	N/A	

Secretary	Peter Chu		
Treasurer	N/A		
Financial Benefits or Other Benefits Please provide details of any financial or material benefit(s) the Group anticipates receiving from a single source in a calendar year which has a value, either singly or cumulatively, of more than £500. This includes donations, gifts, hospitality or visits and material assistance such as secretariat support.			
None			

TO BE COMPLETED BY THE CONVENER

COMPLIANCE WITH SECTION 6 OF THE CODE OF CONDUCT (Please tick all boxes that apply)

I, Convener of the Cross-Party Group on Taiwan, hereby declare that, in line with the requirements of Section 6 of the Code of Conduct, this CPG has:

8 MSP Members from 4 different political parties	
Held at least 2 quorate meetings in the last 12 months	\checkmark
Held an AGM within 11-13months of the date of registration or the last AGM	\checkmark
Submitted an annual return form within 30 calendar days of the AGM	\checkmark
Provided Standards Clerks with 10 calendar days' notice of all meetings	\checkmark

Provided minutes	s of all meetings	\checkmark
Signed	Rhoda Grant MSP Rhoda Anani	
Date	16.12.2024	