Cross-Party Group Annual Return

Name of Cross-Party Group

Cross-Party Group on Sustainable Transport

Date Group Established (the date of establishment is the date in this parliamentary session that the Group held its initial meeting, where the office bearers were elected and not the date that the Group was accorded recognition. All Groups should hold their AGMs on, or before, the anniversary of this date.)

25th November 2021

Date of Most Recent Annual General Meeting (AGM)

22 January 2025

Date Annual Return Submitted

23 January 2025

Date of Preceding AGM [this date is required to aid clerks in verifying that the most recent AGM has taken place within 11 to 13 months of the previous AGM]

24 January 2024

Group Meetings and Activities

Please provide details of each meeting of the Group including the date of the meeting, a brief description of the main subjects discussed and the MSP and non-MSP attendance figures.

Details of any other activities, such as visits undertaken by the Group or papers/report published by the Group should also be provided.

12 March 2024

4 MSPs and 32 non-MSP

Hybrid session. Theme: micro-mobility. Guest speakers: Jenny Box (Cycling UK), Peter Eland (Bicycle Association), Alex Fitzhowie (Farr Out Deliveries). Followed by a Q&A session.

11 June 2024

3 MSPs and 51 non-MSP

Hybrid session. Theme: transport & poverty. Guest speakers: Dr Margaret Douglas (Public Health Scotland), Bertrand Deiss (Transport Scotland), Ralph Hartley (The Poverty Alliance). Followed by a Q&A session.

1 October 2024

3 MSPs and 39 non-MSP

Hybrid session. Theme: transport, children & young people. Guest speakers: Dr Lee Muir (Sustrans), David McGilp MSYP & Islay Jackson MSYP (Scottish Youth Parliament). Followed by a Q&A session.

10 December 2024

4 MSPs and 59 non-MSP

Hybrid session. Theme: women & transport. Guest speakers: Heather Williams (Scottish Women's Budget Group), Catherine Heeney (Transport Scotland). Followed by a Q&A session.

22 January 2025 – AGM (online) 4 MPs and 2 non-MSP

Online session. Discussed: annual return form completion, office-bearer (re)election, new membership proposals.

MSP Members of The Group

Please provide names and party designation of all MSP members of the Group.

Graham Simpson (Conservative), John Mason (Independent) Sarah Boyack (Labour), Mark Ruskell (Green), Liam Kerr (Conservative), Brian Whittle (Conservative).

Non-MSP Members of The Group

For organisational members please provide only the name of the organisation, it is not necessary to provide the name(s) of individuals who may represent the organisation at meetings of the Group.

Individuals	Patrick Miner, Aaron McHale, Richard Gale
Organisations	Allan Rail, Alexander Dennis, Age Scotland, CalMac, Capital Rail Action Group, Caledonian Maritime Assets (CMAL), CoMoUK, Community Energy Scotland, Community Transport Association (CTA), Community Rail Network, Climate Action Hub Lanarkshire, CPT Scotland, Cycle Law Scotland, Cycling Scotland, Cycling UK in Scotland, Disability Equality Scotland, Edinburgh Bus User's group, Enterprise Holdings, Friends of the Earth Scotland, Friends of the Far North Line, Get Glasgow Moving, GoBike Strathclyde, Grand Union Trains, Heritage Railway Association, Hitrans, Intelligent Health, Levenmouth Rail Campaign, Light Rail Transit Association, Light Rail UK Group, Living Streets Scotland, Lothian Buses, LNER, Midlothian & Disability Access Panel, Mobility & Access Committee for Scotland (MACS), Motability Foundation, Network Rail Scotland, Paths For All, Pedal on Parliament, Rail Action Group (East Scotland), Railfuture, Railway Industry Association (RIA), Ramblers Scotland, RNIB Scotland, RMT, Siemens Mobility, Scotrail, Scottish Association for

Group Office Bearers

Please provide names for all office bearers. The minimum requirement is that two of the office bearers are MSPs and one of these is Convener – beyond this it is a matter for the Group to decide upon the office bearers it wishes to have. It is permissible to have more than one individual elected to each office, for example, co-conveners or multiple deputy conveners.

Women's Cycle Forum Scotland.

Public Transport, Scottish Canals, Scottish Rural & Islands Transport Community (SRITC), Spokes, St Andrew's Rail Campaign, Stagecoach, Strathclyde Partnership for Transport (SPT), Sustrans Scotland, Technology Scotland, Transport Focus, Transport Research Institute (Napier), Transform Scotland, Trust in the Park, Tweed Valley Rail Campaign,

Deputy Convener	John Mason MSP, Sarah Boyack MSP, Mark Ruskell MSP
Secretary	Transform Scotland (Laura Hyde-White)
Treasurer	Non-applicable

Financial Benefits or Other Benefits

Please provide details of any financial or material benefit(s) the Group anticipates receiving from a single source in a calendar year which has a value, either singly or cumulatively, of more than £500. This includes donations, gifts, hospitality or visits and material assistance such as secretariat support.

Secretariat support was provided in-kind by Transform Scotland in the form of staff time.

Convener Contact Details		
Name	Graham Simpson MSP	
Parliamentary address	M3:14, The Scottish Parliament, Edinburgh EH99 1SP	
Telephone number	0131 348 6983	