## **Cross-Party Group Annual Return**

## Name of Cross-Party Group

## **Cross-Party Group on Space**

**Date Group Established** (the date of establishment is the date in this parliamentary session that the Group held its initial meeting, where the office bearers were elected and not the date that the Group was accorded recognition. All Groups should hold their AGMs on, or before, the anniversary of this date.)

30 November 2022

## **Date of Most Recent Annual General Meeting (AGM)**

03 December 2024

#### **Date Annual Return Submitted**

23/12/24

**Date of Preceding AGM** [this date is required to aid clerks in verifying that the most recent AGM has taken place within 11 to 13 months of the previous AGM]

13/12/23

# **Group Meetings and Activities**

Please provide details of each meeting of the Group including the date of the meeting, a brief description of the main subjects discussed and the MSP and non-MSP attendance figures.

Details of any other activities, such as visits undertaken by the Group or papers/report published by the Group should also be provided.

#### 20 Feb 2024

- Topics discussed: Presentation from Skyrora, Presentation from CEO of Orbex, priorities for the group, presentation from National Robotarium
- 2 MSPs attended; 29 non-MSPs attended.

#### 24 April 2024

- Presentation from Dr John E Ward, Senior Director of Research and Development, Spire
- Presentation from Andrew Strain, Chief Technical Officer, AAC Clyde Space
- Presentation from Professor Mahesh, Anan Professor of Planetary Sciences and Exploration the Open University
- 2 MSPs attended; 27 non-MSPs attended

### 18 Sept 2024

- Presentation from Minister for Business, Richard Lochhead MSP
- Presentation from Paul Cremin, Head of Commercial Spaceflight, Aviation Directorate, Department for Transport
- Presentation from Joe Peace, Head of Event Sales, ADS Group
- 5 MSPs attended; 37 non-MSPs attended

# **MSP Members of The Group**

Please provide names and party designation of all MSP members of the Group.

Colin Beattie - SNP

Jamie Halcro Johnston – Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

Carol Mochan – Scottish Labour

Beatrice Wishart - Scottish Liberal Democrats

Kenneth Gibson - SNP

Paul Sweeney - Scottish Labour

Sharon Dowey - Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

# Non-MSP Members of The Group

For organisational members please provide only the name of the organisation, it is not necessary to provide the name(s) of individuals who may represent the organisation at meetings of the Group.

#### **Individuals**

Derek Harris, Skyrora Grant Lewis, Lockheed Martin UK Nic Ross, Niparo Derek Young, Institute of Physics Sandra Craig, Spirit Aerosystems Hannah Miller, Scottish Parliament Malachy Devlin, Celestia UK Daniel Smith, AstroAgency Julian Dines, UK Astronomy Technology Centre Kelly Hardman, Fragomen LLP Andy Nolan, Brodies LLP Sharon Lemac-Vincere, Strathclyde University Jacqueline Woo, Dionach Angela Matis, ThinkTank Maths David Shaw, Civil Aviation Authority Jonathon Orr, University of Strathclyde Jonas Biarnoe, Orbex Luke Vanstone, Benchmark Space Systems Karen Wilson, Scottish Enterprise Athina Frantzana, University of Edinburgh Peter Anderson, AAC Clyde Space Alan Thompson, Skyrora Ed Fyfe, Ed Fyfe Design Keith Robson, Open University Alison McLure, Institute of Physics Massimiliano Vasile, University of Strathclyde Yvette Hopkins, Craft Prospect Andrew Fournet, CGI Warrick Malcolm, ADS Group Ken Doig, ADS Group Victoria Mills, ADS Group Athina Frantzana, University of Edinburgh Dr Christie Maddock, University of Strathclyde Dr Massimiliano Vasile, University of Strathclyde Jaqueline Woo, Dionach Jenni Doonan, Fife College Theresa Condor, Spire Ed Fyfe, Ed Fyfe Design

Kelly Hardman, Fragomen

	Brian Gallacher, Plexus
Organisations	Shetland Space Centre
	NMIS
	University of Strathclyde
	Global Surface Intelligence
	The Higgs Centre, STFC
	AAC Clyde Space
	Department for International Trade UK Govt.
	AstroAgency
	Highlands and Islands Enterprise
	University of Edinburgh
	D-CAT
	Lockheed Martin UK Space
	UKSpace
	Hylmpulse UK Ltd
	Orbex
	Thales Glasgow
	Airbus
	The Aerospace Corporation UK Ltd
	Spire Global UK
	Celestia
	ADS Scotland
	Niparo
	Celestia Global

# **Group Office Bearers**

Please provide names for all office bearers. The minimum requirement is that two of the office bearers are MSPs and one of these is Convener – beyond this it is a matter for the Group to decide upon the office bearers it wishes to have. It is permissible to have more than one individual elected to each office, for example, co-conveners or multiple deputy conveners.

Convener	Colin Beattie MSP
Deputy Conveners	Carol Mochan MSP  Beatrice Wishart MSP  Jamie Halcro Johnston MSP
Secretary	ADS Group Limited
Treasurer	N/A

#### **Financial Benefits or Other Benefits**

Please provide details of any financial or material benefit(s) the Group anticipates receiving from a single source in a calendar year which has a value, either singly or cumulatively, of more than £500. This includes donations, gifts, hospitality or visits and material assistance such as secretariat support.

#### TO BE COMPLETED BY THE CONVENER

# COMPLIANCE WITH SECTION 6 OF THE CODE OF CONDUCT (Please tick all boxes that apply)

I, Convener of the Cross-Party Group on <X>, hereby declare that, in line with the requirements of Section 6 of the Code of Conduct, this CPG has:

5 MSP Members from 3 different political parties	X
Held at least 2 quorate meetings in the last 12 months	х
Held an AGM within 11-13months of the date of registration or the last AGM	
Submitted an annual return form within 30 calendar days of the AGM	x
Provided Standards Clerks with 10 calendar days' notice of all meetings	x
Provided minutes of all meetings	X

Signed	St. Fould
Date	23/12/24