Cross-Party Group Annual Return 2023-2024

Name of Cross-Party Group

Cross-Party Group on Scotch Whisky

Date Group Established (the date of establishment is the date in this parliamentary session that the Group held its initial meeting, where the office bearers were elected and not the date that the Group was accorded recognition. All Groups should hold their AGMs on, or before, the anniversary of this date.)

21st September 2021

Date of Most Recent Annual General Meeting (AGM)

26th September 2024

Date Annual Return Submitted

29 October 2024

Date of Preceding AGM [this date is required to aid clerks in verifying that the most recent AGM has taken place within 11 to 13 months of the previous AGM]

28th September 2023

Group Meetings and Activities

Please provide details of each meeting of the Group including the date of the meeting, a brief description of the main subjects discussed and the MSP and non-MSP attendance figures.

Details of any other activities, such as visits undertaken by the Group or papers/report published by the Group should also be provided.

28th September 2023

Main subjects discussed: Office bearers were elected. Graeme Littlejohn, Director of Strategy & Communications, Scotch Whisky Association, presented an overview of Scotch Whisky 2022 tourism figures and Rosie Willmot, Communications Manager, Scotch Whisky Association, provided an overview of the SWA's Made to Be Measured responsible drinking campaign.

MSP attendance: Murdo Fraser MSP, Rhoda Grant MSP, Emma Harper MSP, Gordon MacDonald MSP, Colin Smyth MSP

Non-MSP attendance: Blair Bowman (Whisky Consultant), Karen Freel (Perspectiva Consultants), Graeme Littlejohn (Scotch Whisky Association – Secretariat), Orchid Liu (UK Chinese Times), Michael Taylor (Solmaris), Rosie Willmot (Scotch Whisky Association)

7th December 2023

Main subjects discussed: Minutes of the previous meeting on 28th September were approved. CPG Members firstly had presentations on Scotch Whisky Industry Sustainability Case Study vignettes from:

- Adam Carson, Regenerative Agriculture Manager, Diageo, on Regenerative Agriculture.
- Alistair Longwell, Head of Distillation & Environment, Beam Suntory, on Efficient use of peat and peatland restauration.
- Ronald Daalman, Environmental Sustainability Manager, Chivas Brothers, on Energy.
- Lynne McEwan, Bruichladdich, on Packaging.
 Followed by a stocktake of Scotch Whisky Industry Sustainability progress and next steps, provided by Ruth Piggin, Director Industry Sustainability, Scotch Whisky Association.

MSP attendance: Murdo Fraser MSP, Rhoda Grant MSP, Emma Harper MSP, Gordon MacDonald MSP and Colin Smyth MSP

Non-MSP attendance: Blair Bowman (Whisky Consultant), Susanne Cameron-Nielsen (Scotch Whisky Association – Secretariat), James Dodd (Stolt Tank Containers UK), Karen Freel (Perspectiva Consultants), Annie Hill (The International Centre for Brewing & Distilling), Michael Taylor. Speakers: Adam Carson (Diageo), Ronald Daalmans (Chivas Brothers), Alistair Longwell (Beam Suntory), Lynne McEwan (Bruichladdich), Ruth Piggin (Scotch Whisky Association).

Also in attendance: Dr Oke Adekunle, Senior Lecturer in Operations and Supply Chain Management, Leeds Beckett University, India Armstrong (Scotch Whisky Association)

18th June 2024 – cancelled due to the General Election

26th September 2024

Main subjects discussed: Minutes of the previous meeting of 7th December 2023 were approved. AGM - office bearers were (re)elected. Graeme Littlejohn, Director of Strategy & Communications provided and overview of Scotch Whisky H1 stats, responding to questions from members and Susanne Cameron-Nielsen, Head of Engagement, SWA, provided an overview of the jointly with HITRANS commissioned report on 'Whisky Logistics – Identifying the barriers to growth in the Highlands and Islands, responding to questions from members.

MSP attendance: Jackie Baillie MSP, Murdo Fraser MSP (Chairing) Rachael Hamilton MSP, Gordon MacDonald MSP, Douglas Ross MSP

Non-MSP attendance: Susanne Cameron-Nielsen (Scotch Whisky Association – Secretariat), Annie Hill (The International Centre for Brewing & Distilling), Graeme Littlejohn (Scotch Whisky Association – speaker), Michael Taylor (Solmaris)

MSP Members of The Group

Please provide names and party designation of all MSP members of the Group.

Jackie Baillie (Labour), Murdo Fraser (Conservatives), Rhoda Grant (Labour), Rachael Hamilton (Conservatives), Emma Harper (SNP) Gordon MacDonald (SNP), Liam McArthur (Liberal Democrat), Colin Smyth (Labour).

Non-MSP Members of The Group

For organisational members please provide only the name of the organisation, it is not necessary to provide the name(s) of individuals who may represent the organisation at meetings of the Group.

Individuals	Blair Bowman, Whisky Consultant and Author Michael Taylor, Director, Solmaris
Organisations	Scotch Whisky Association (Secretariat), Chivas Brothers, Diageo, Edinburgh Distillery Company, Edrington, Gordon MacPhail, Perspectiva Consultants, Glasgow Distillery, GMB, Industrial Biotechnology Innovation Centre, Institute of Brewing and Distilling, Interface, SEPA, Scottish Distillers Association, Forth Ports, Portman Group, Stolt Tank Containers UK, Chinese Times, Unite, William Grant.

Group Office Bearers

Please provide names for all office bearers. The minimum requirement is that two of the office bearers are MSPs and one of these is Convener – beyond this it is a matter for the Group to decide upon the office bearers it wishes to have. It is permissible to have more than one individual elected to each office, for example, co-conveners or multiple deputy conveners.

Convener	Murdo Fraser MSP	Gordon MacDonald MSP
Deputy Convener	Colin Smyth MSP	Emma Harper MSP
Secretary	Susanne Cameron-Nielsen, Scotch Whisky Association	
Treasurer	None	

If the Group is not disclosing any financial information please tick the box to confirm that the Group has considered the support received, but concluded it totalled under the threshold for disclosure (£500). \checkmark

Subscription Charged by the Group

Please provide details of the amount charged and the purpose for which the subscription is intended to be used.

N/A

Convener Contact Details

Name	Murdo Fraser MSP	Gordon MacDonald MSP
Parliamentary address		
Telephone number	0131 348 5293	0131 348 5741