Cross-Party Group Annual Return

Name of Cross-Party Group

Cross-Party Group on Science and Technology

Date Group Established

Tuesday 7th September 2021

Date of Most Recent Annual General Meeting (AGM)

Tuesday 29th October 2024

Date Annual Return Submitted

Tuesday 26th November 2024

Date of Preceding AGM

Wednesday 13th December 2023

Group Meetings and Activities

Please provide details of each meeting of the Group including the date of the meeting, a brief description of the main subjects discussed and the MSP and non-MSP attendance figures.

Details of any other activities, such as visits undertaken by the Group or papers/report published by the Group should also be provided.

- Scottish Parliament Meeting with speakers from the Scottish Al Alliance, including Steph Wright (Head of the Scottish Al Alliance), who discussed how the Alliance is delivering the vision outlined in the Al Strategy in an open, transparent and collaborative way – Tuesday 23 April 2024 – Clare Adamson MSP + Brian Whittle MSP
- 2) Scottish Parliament meeting with speakers from the Royal Society of Edinburgh, Learned Societies Group and Young

Academy of Scotland to discussion future-proofing Scotland's education and skills system. This was followed by the AGM to select group office bearers – Tuesday 29 October 2024 – Clare Adamson MSP + Brian Whittle MSP

MSP Members of The Group

Please provide names and party designation of all MSP members of the Group.

Clare Adamson, SNP

Brian Whittle, Scottish Conservatives Paul O'Kane, Scottish Labour Finlay Carson, Scottish Conservatives Stuart McMillan, SNP Patrick Harvie, Scottish Green Murdo Fraser, Scottish Conservatives

Non-MSP Members of The Group

For organisational members please provide only the name of the organisation, it is not necessary to provide the name(s) of individuals who may represent the organisation at meetings of the Group.

	Mrs Kathleen Hill
Individuals	Mrs Sylvia McKay
	Ms Maria Mutaal
	Ms Beth Myles-Geddes
	Ms Kaitlyn Louth
	Ms Mridula Chakraborty
	Dr Allan Colquhoun
	Dr Fiona McNeill
	Dr Kitty Meeks
	Professor Verena Rieser
	Mr Albert Kin
	Mr Tim Hurst
	Mr Jack McGleish
	Professor Derek Stewart
	Professor Zoe Shipton
	Professor William Sloan
	Professor David Cole-Hamilton
	Dr William Duncan
	Professor Ian Strachan
	Professor Louise Horsfall
	Mr Brian Hyde
	Ms Megan O'Donnell
	Ms Sinead Griffin

	Mr Stephen Peacock Mr Ronan Taylor
Organisations	Academy for the Mathematical Sciences Associate for Science Education Dress Code Edinburgh International Science Festival Edinburgh Mathematical Society Equate Scotland Food Standards Scotland Fraunhofer UK Information Commissioner's Office Institute of Physics James Hutton Institute Leonardo Microbiology Society Parliamentary Science and Technology Information Foundation Physiological Society Primary Science Teaching Trust Prosper Skills Development Scotland Scottish Carbon Capture and Storage Scottish Funding Council SSERC Strathclyde University The Cology Teachers Association The Data Lab The Geological Society The National Robotarium The Physiological Society The Royal Society of Biology The Royal Society of Edinburgh The Royal Society of Chemistry Townrock Energy University of Edinburgh University of He West of Scotland Usher Institute Wave Energy Scotland Young Academy of Scotland

Group Office Bearers

Please provide names for all office bearers. The minimum requirement is that two of the office bearers are MSPs and one of these is Convener – beyond this it is a matter for the Group to decide upon the office bearers it wishes to have. It is permissible to have

more than one individual elected to each office, for example, coconveners or multiple deputy conveners.

Convener	Clare Adamson
Deputy Convener	Brian Whittle
Secretary	The Royal Society of Edinburgh
Treasurer	N/A

Financial Benefits or Other Benefits

Please provide details of any financial or material benefit(s) the Group anticipates receiving from a single source in a calendar year which has a value, either singly or cumulatively, of more than £500. This includes donations, gifts, hospitality or visits and material assistance such as secretariat support.

N/A

TO BE COMPLETED BY THE CONVENER

COMPLIANCE WITH SECTION 6 OF THE CODE OF CONDUCT (Please tick all boxes that apply)

I, Convener of the Cross-Party Group on 10 January 2024, hereby declare that, in line with the requirements of Section 6 of the Code of Conduct, this CPG has:

5 MSP Members from 3 different political parties	Х
Held at least 2 quorate meetings in the last 12 months	Х
Held an AGM within 11-13months of the date of registration or the last AGM	Х

Submitted an ann AGM	nual return form within 30 calendar days of the	Х
Provided Standards Clerks with 10 calendar days' notice of all meetings		Х
Provided minutes of all meetings		Х
Signed	Clane Adamsen	
Date	26 November 2024	