Cross-Party Group on Fair Trade

Annual General Meeting Wednesday 26 June 2024 at 12.30pm, online

Minute

Present

MSPs

Colin Smyth MSP John Mason MSP Sarah Boyack MSP

Invited guests

Lesley Hinds, Office of Foysol Choudhury MSP Tanya Jones, Office of Maggie Chapman MSP

Non-MSP Group Members

Martin Rhodes, Scottish Fair Trade Charles Sim, East Ayrshire Fair Trade Group Martin Meteyard Jeanette McIvor, Queensferry Fairtrade Group Morag Rennie, North Lanarkshire Fair Trade Group Pam Maxwell, North Ayrshire Fair Trade Group Scott Irwin, Green City Wholefoods George Davidson, City of Edinburgh Fair Trade Steering Group Anne Walsh, West Lothian Fairtrade Zone Steering Group Kirsty Connell, Scotmid Alison Wright, Dumfries Fair Trade Group

Apologies

Sally Romilly, Dundee Fair Trade Dorum Karena Jarvie, Pert and Kinross Fair Trade Steering Group

Agenda item 1

Colin Smyth MSP welcomed everyone to the meeting. Those in attendance and apologies were noted.

Agenda item 2

The Convenor reported on activities since the last AGM. He reported that in November 2023 the CPG held a joint meeting with the CPG on Bangladesh looking at the textile industry in Bangladesh with Professor Aziz Islam of Aberdeen University and Mr Mohammad Ghayas Uddin of Community Crafts, Bangladesh.

He also reported that in March 2024, the CPG held a meeting during Scotland's first Fair Trade in Education Week. The guests speakers for this meeting were Sreeranga Rajan of Dibella India; Louise White and pupils from Corpus Christi Primary School in Glasgow; Andy Ashcroft of Kool Skools; Eileen Imlah of New College Lanarkshire; and Diana Firth of West of Scotland Development Education Centre.

At a meeting of the CPG in May 2024, Scottish Fair Trade presented on their new report on Fair Trade procurement by public sector bodies.

The Convenor reported that the CPG had gained three new members over the year: John Mason MSP, Maggie Chapman MSP and Tim Eagle MSP.

Agenda item 3

Election of Office Bearers:

Colin Smyth was proposed as Convenor by John Mason MSP, seconded by Sarah Boyack MSP and elected unopposed.

Sue Webber was proposed as Vice Convenor by Colin Smyth MSP, seconded by Sarah Boyack MSP and elected unopposed.

Martin Rhodes was proposed as Secretary by Colin Smyth MSP and seconded by John Mason MSP and elected unopposed.

Agenda item 4

It was agreed to have 3 meetings and an event in the year ahead.

Agenda item 5

It was agreed to continue to have no membership fee.

Agenda item 6

The meeting closed at 12.55pm.