Cross-Party Group Annual Return

Name of Cross-Party Group

Cross-Party Group on Adult Survivors of Childhood Sexual Abuse

Date Group Established

24th June 2021

Date of Most Recent Annual General Meeting (AGM)

11th June 2024

Date Annual Return Submitted

13th June 2024

Date of Preceding AGM

27th June 2023

Group Meetings and Activities

27th June 2023

Business Meeting

- Response on Redress and Time Bar in Private Schools: Response from Mr Swinney, Deputy First Minister
- Letter to the Cabinet Secretary for Justice on Redress Scheme
- Briefing Paper from Sibling Sexual Abuse Group: Update
- Trauma Awareness and Training on CSA for Health Practitioners on Experiences of Survivors being Re traumatised
- Mandatory Reporting of Child Sexual Abuse: Consultation currently underway in Westminster: Plans for Scotland?

MSPs attending: 2 Members attending: 7 Guests attending: 1

3rd October 2023

Business Meeting

- Letter to Cabinet Secretary for Justice: Update
- Mandatory Reporting of CSA: How is the Scottish Parliament responding to this?
- Sibling Sexual Abuse: Update and recommendation that the briefing paper be distributed to MSPs with possible members motion
- Health Barriers and Inequalities for Survivors: Update and letter for Cabinet Secretary for Health & Social Care and Chief Medical Officer
- NES Trauma Training Programme: Update on meetings
- IPSCAN and Childlight Conference: Update
- Hosting a play "Groomed" for future Event: Discussion

MSPs attending: 2 Members attending: 13

Guests attending: 0

5th December 2023

Business Meeting

- Letter to Cabinet Secretary for Justice: Update
- Letter to Cabinet Secretary for Health and Chief Medical Officer: Update
- · Mandatory Reporting of CSA: Update
- Sibling Sexual Abuse: Update
- Groomed Play Event: Update
- Corroboration Judgement: Update
- Access to Social Work Files for Redress Scheme: Discussion
- Employment Support Allowance: Discussion

MSPs attending: 2 Members attending: 11 Guests attending: 0

26th March 2024

Business Meeting

- Letter and meeting with Cabinet Secretary for Justice: Update
- Letter and meeting with Minister for Social Care, Mental Health, Wellbeing and Sport: Update
- Sibling Sexual Abuse: Update and progress
- IPSCAN and Childlight Conference: Update
- Letter to Works & Pensions Committee: Update
- Presentation on Failures of Fatal Accident Inquiries for Traumatised Young People: Dr Sarah Nelson, University of Edinburgh
- Mandatory Reporting and Child Protection in Scotland: Update and discussion following response from Minister for Children, Young People and Keeping the Promise
- Groomed Play and Event: Update

MSPs attending: 2

Members attending: 13 Guests attending: 2

11th June 2024 AGM

Convener's Report: Fulton provided a brief update on the previous year's activities and work programme which will be the basis of our Annual Return and Minute

Treasurer's Update: Sandra provided an update and financial breakdown which will be included in the Minute

Election of Office Bearers:

Convener: Fulton MacGregor MSP

Depute Convener: Daniel Johnson MSP

Co- Convener and Secretary: Anne Macdonald, Health & Social Care

Adviser

Co Convener and Secretary: Stuart Allardyce, Director Stop It Now!

Scotland

Treasurer: Sandra Brown, Moira Anderson Foundation

MSPs attending: Fulton MacGregor MSP, Collette Stevenson MSP

Non MSPs attending:

Anne Macdonald, Health & Social Care Adviser, Stuart Allardyce, Director, Stop It Now Scotland, Sandra Brown, Moira Anderson Foundation, Andrew Campbell, Student, Sharon Belshaw, Break the Silence, Dr Eric, Swanepoel, Writer & Researcher, Natalie Gibb, Health in Mind, Carol Willson, Student, Whitney Barrett, Wellbeing Scotland, Janine Rennie, Campaigner, Eric Boslem, First Tier, Alison Wales, NSPCC

Guest

Tam Baillie, Chair Scottish Child Protection Committee

MSP Members of The Group

Katy Clark MSP (Labour)

James Dornan MSP (SNP)

Ross Greer MSP (Scottish Green Party)

Daniel Johnson MSP (Labour)

Fulton MacGregor MSP (SNP)

Collette Stevenson MSP (SNP)

Sue Webber MSP (Conservative)

Brian Whittle MSP (Conservative)

Non-MSP Members of The Group

Individuals

Andrew Campbell, Student

Lorna- Ann Deans, Student

Dr Jacqueline Dow, Psychotherapist

Ellie Forgan, Campaigner

Sheila Gaul, Retired Social Worker

Ewan Law, Fife College

Anne Macdonald, Health & Social Care Adviser

Dr Adam Mahoney, Napier University

Dr Javita Narang, International Consultant,

Psychological Trauma Care

Dr Sarah Nelson, Researcher, University of Edinburgh

Janine Rennie, Campaigner

Malcolm Rodger, QHSE Adviser and Survivor

George Scott, Campaigner: Abuse in Private Schools

in Scotland

Dr Eric Swanepoel, Writer & Researcher

Carol Willson, Student

Organisations

Break the Silence

First Tier

Health in Mind

Kingdom Abuse Survivors Project (KASP)

Moira Anderson Foundation

NSPCC

Safe Space

Say Women

Speak Out Survivors

Stop it Now! Scotland

Survivors Space

The Survivors Trust

Thirtyone:eight

Wellbeing Scotland

Group Office Bearers

Please provide names for all office bearers. The minimum requirement is that two of the office bearers are MSPs and one of these is Convener – beyond this it is a matter for the Group to decide upon the office bearers it wishes to have. It is permissible to have more than one

individual elected to each office, for example, co-conveners or multiple)
deputy conveners.	

Convener	Fulton MacGregor MSP
Deputy Convener	Daniel Johnson MSP
Secretary	Anne Macdonald, Health & Social Care Adviser Stuart Allardyce, Director Stop It Now! Scotland
Treasurer	Sandra Brown, The Moira Anderson Foundation

If the Group is not disclosing any financial information please tick the box to confirm that the Group has considered the support received, but concluded it totalled under the threshold for disclosure (£500). XX

Subscription Charged by the Group

Please provide details of the amount charged and the purpose for which the subscription is intended to be used.

£15 per member, per annum. Students and low income £5 for catering on any planned events

Convener Contact Details

Name	Fulton MacGregor MSP
Parliamentary address	The Scottish Parliament Edinburgh EH99 1SP
Telephone number	0131 348 5797