

Conveners Group

Minutes

1st Meeting, 2025 (Session 6) 26 February 2025

Present:

Liam McArthur MSP, Convener
Karen Adam - Equalities, Human Rights & Civil Justice Committee
Clare Adamson - Constitution, Europe, External Affairs & Culture Committee
Ariane Burgess - Local Government, Housing & Planning Committee
Jackson Carlaw - Citizen Participation & Public Petitions Committee
Finlay Carson - Rural Affairs and Islands
Kenneth Gibson - Finance & Public Administration Committee
Richard Leonard - Public Audit Committee
Stuart McMillan - Delegated Powers and Law Reform Committee
Edward Mountain - Net Zero, Energy & Transport Committee
Audrey Nicoll - Criminal Justice Committee
Douglas Ross - Education, Children and Young People Committee
Colin Smyth - Economy & Fair Work Committee
Collette Stevenson - Social Justice and Social Security Committee
Martin Whitfield - Standards, Procedures & Public Appointments Committee

Apologies were received from:

Clare Haughey - Health, Social Care & Sport Committee

- 1. **Minutes:** The Conveners Group agreed the minutes of the last meeting.
- 2. **COSLA**: The Group noted the correspondence received from COSLA regarding the informal engagement it had with the Group on 29 January 2025 and agreed to consider a paper on outcomes from this engagement at a future meeting.
- 3. **Strategic priority on Members' continuous professional development:** The Group considered an update on its strategic priority on Members' continuous professional development and agreed to consider this again as part of its legacy paper.

- 4. **Strategic priority on post-EU scrutiny:** The Group considered an update on its strategic priority on post-EU scrutiny.
- 5. **BBC Annual Report**: The Group noted the correspondence from the Constitution, Europe, External Affairs and Culture Committee to the Director-General of the BBC, Tim Davie, dated 7 February 2025 in relation to BBC Scotland's coverage of the Scotlish Parliament and its committees.

Date of Next Meeting: 19 March 2025

Contact details for the clerk

Sigrid Robinson Clerk to the Conveners Group Room T3.40, The Scottish Parliament

Tel: 0131 348 5256

Email: ConvenersGroup@Parliament.Scot