Parliamentary Bureau – Committee Membership and Substitutes

Committee membership

1. The Scottish Green Party is seeking to make the following change to committee membership—

Membership Change(s)
Lorna Slater to replace Maggie Chapman

2. The Scottish National Party is seeking to make the following change to committee membership—

Committee	Membership Change(s)				
Constitution, Europe, External Affairs and					
Culture					
Criminal Justice	Ben Macpherson to be appointed as a member				
Economy and Fair Work	Michelle Thomson and Willie Coffey to				
	replace Colin Beattie and Evelyn Tweed				
Education, Children and Young People	George Adam, John Mason and Evelyn				
	Tweed to replace Ruth Maguire, Ben				
	Macpherson and Michelle Thomson				
Health, Social Care and Sport	Joe Fitzpatrick to be appointed as a member				
Local Government, Housing and Planning	Emma Roddick to replace Stephanie				
	Callaghan				
Public Audit	Fulton MacGregor to replace Willie Coffey				
Rural Affairs and Islands	Colin Beattie to replace Alasdair Allan				
Social Justice and Social Security	Kevin Stewart to replace John Mason				
Standards, Procedures and Public	Ruth Maguire to be appointed as a member.				
Appointments	Joe Fitzpatrick to replace Jackie Dunbar				

3. The Bureau has previously discussed the matter of gender balance on committees. Taking into account recent resignations, these latest moves would result in the following overall changes to the gender balance of the relevant committee—

		Before changes				After changes				Change
Committee	Total	Male	Female	Male	Female	Male	Female	Male	Female	
										M+1
CEEAC	7	4	3	57%	43%	5	2	71%	29%	F-1
CJ	8	3	5	37%	63%	3	5	37%	63%	No change

EFW	9	6	3	67%	33%	6	3	67%	33%	No chnage
ЕСҮР	10	5	5	50%	50%	6	4	60%	40%	M+1 F-1
HSCS	10	4	6	40%	60%	4	6	40%	60%	No change
LGHP	7	4	3	57%	43%	4	3	57%	43%	No change
PA	5	5	0	100%	0	5	0	100%	0	No change
RAI	9	2	7	22%	78%	2	7	22%	78%	No change
SJSS	8	4	4	50%	50%	4	4	50%	50%	No change
SPPA	5	3	2	60%	40%	3	2	60%	40%	No change

Committee substitutes

4. The Scottish Green Party is also seeking to make the following change to committee Substitutes—

Committee	Substitute Change(s)
Economy and Fair Work Committee	Maggie Chapman to replace Ariane Burgess

Decision

5. The Bureau is invited to agree to lodge motion proposing these changes which will be taken at Decision Time on Tuesday 18 June, to take effect from that point forward.

Parliamentary Business Team June 2024